Excerpts from Famous Love Letters: Robert Burns

Robert Burns Source: Image:Robert burns.jpg Re...

Image via Wikipedia

Famous Love Letters: Robert Burns

Robert Burns wrote many love letters to assorted women during his relatively short  life. When I read his love letters and peruse some of his love poetry, it is easy to see why Robert Burns has become the Scottish National Poet.

Robert Burns had a number of love affairs. His is writing must have appealed to the hearts of the women to whom he wrote his love poems and romantic love letters.

Here are some of his romantic words:

The passion of love has need to be productive of much delight; as where it takes thorough possession of the man, it almost unfits him for anything else.

The lover who is certain of an equal return of affection, is surely the happiest of men; but he who is a prey to the horrors of anxiety and dreaded disappointment, is a being whose situation is by no means enviable.

Of this, my present experience gives me much proof.

To me, amusement seems impertinent, and business intrusion, while you alone engross every faculty of my mind.

May I request you to drop me a line, to inform me when I may wait upon you?

For pity’s sake, do; and let me have it soon.

In the meantime allow me, in all the artless sincerity of truth, to assure you that I truly am,

my dearest Madam,

your ardent lover, and devoted humble servant

One Response

  1. […] Excerpts from Famous Love Letters: Robert Burns (romancegoddess.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

